Standing Committee

Our Standing Committee is an elected group of servants especially dedicated to overall parish health, stability, and opportunities to grow and thrive. Their duties, responsibilities, selection, and governance is established by Canon 8 of the Canons of the Diocese of Indianapolis.

If a Bishop or Bishop Coadjutor of the Diocese, who is canonically authorized to act, is unavailable, the Standing Committee shall have the Ecclesiastical Authority of the Diocese for the time being. This authority extends to matters of consent to ordinations within the diocese, and consent to elections of bishops throughout the church. Only the standing committee can authorize sale of property or taking on debt.

In February 2018, the Standing Committee organized an Episcopal Mutual Ministry Review with Bishop Jennifer. Dan Martin facilitated a process described in this document. To receive the executive summary of the results of the Episcopal Mutual Ministry Review, please email Janet Brinkworth.


Ms. Johnnie Alex (2022)
The Rev. Drew Downs, Chair (2022)
Mr. George Eastman (2023)
The Rev. Matt Seddon (2023)
Mr. Michael McGraw (2024)
The Rev. Karen Sullivan (2024)
The Rt. Rev. Jennifer Baskerville-Burrows, ex officio

© 2021 Episcopal Diocese of Indianapolis